Tony Awards 2017: "Dear Evan Hansen" wins Best Musical

6/12/2017, 7:07 a.m.
The awards show was hosted by "House of Cards" star Kevin Spacey. He kicked off the show with a little ...
The Rockettes perform at the 71st annual Tony Awards at the Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 11, 2017. CBS

— "Dear Evan Hansen" won "Best Musical" at the 71st Annual Tony Awards on Sunday.

The awards show was hosted by "House of Cards" star Kevin Spacey. He kicked off the show with a little help from his fellow Hollywood stars and joked that he wasn't anywhere near the first choice to host the show. That's when Stephen Colbert joined Spacey as the groundhog from the current production of "Groundhog Day," to give him a little advice.

"Just read the prompter," Colbert sang. "Hey, even Steve Harvey would be okay. You're no dope. Never give up hope. Never let yourself be defeated."

Next came Whoopi Goldberg: "If you want to learn, you got to go where some of the greatest hosts of all times have gotten their start: Carson, Letterman. You gotta go to the Rock."

Then it was none other than Billy Crystal who joked that he had been asked to host but declined. Billy Crystal gave advice and said, "Kevin, if all else fails, put on a dress."

Fans might not realize that Spacey has a theater background: He won a Tony Award in 1991 for his performance in "Lost in Yonkers."

The one to watch this year was "Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812," based on Leo Tolstoy's "War and Peace," which led the way with 12 Tony nominations. Singer Josh Groban made his Broadway debut in the musical.

One of the most coveted awards of the evening, Best Featured Actress in a play, went to Cynthia Nixon for her role as Regina in "Lillian Hellman's The Little Foxes." When taking the stage she got political during her speech.

"Sixty years ago, [Hellman] wrote, 'There are people who eat the earth and eat all the people on it and other people who just stand around and watch them do it,'" Nixon said. "My love, gratitude and undying respect go out to all the people in 2017 who are refusing to just stand and watch them do it."

Kevin Kline won the award for Best Leading Actor in a Play for "Present Laughter" and Laurie Metcalf won her first ever Tony Award for "Best Leading Actress in a Play," for "A Doll's House, Part 2."

It was also a big night for "Hello, Dolly!" which earned "Best Musical Revival" and Bette Midler won "Best Leading Actress in a Musical."

James Earl Jones was honored with the 2017 Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theater.

Here's the full list of winners:

Best Musical

"Come From Away"

"Dear Evan Hansen"

"Groundhog Day"

"Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812"

Best Play

"A Doll's House, Part 2"




Best Revival of a Musical


"Hello, Dolly!"

"Miss Saigon"

Best Revival of a Play


"The Little Foxes"

"Present Laughter"

"Six Degrees of Separation"

Best Book of a Musical

"Come From Away," Irene Sankoff and David Hein

"Dear Evan Hansen," Steven Levenson

"Groundhog Day," Danny Rubin

"Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812," Dave Malloy

Best Original Score