LEXINGTON, KY – After leading the Lincoln University women’s basketball team to its first Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association championship, head coach Janice Washington has earned a spot on the 2022 Achieving Coaching Excellence Honor Roll.

In her first season, after taking over the team in July, Washington got to work in instilling her values and style of play into the program. Under her tutelage, senior Bryanna Brown (New York, N.Y./Bishop Loughlin) was named the CIAA Player of the Year and the CIAA Tournament MVP.

Lincoln claimed its first CIAA North Division crown and then came back to win the CIAA Tournament to earn the program’s first NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Tournament appearance.

She is one of just two Division II coaches to land a spot on the honor roll.

Starting after the 2019-20 season, the College Basketball Coaching Honor Roll annually recognizes leaders in women’s and men’s college basketball that demonstrate tenets of coaching excellence that include on and off the court performance, community involvement, and serving as champions for college basketball, their coaching peers, and the coaching profession.

About Achieving Coaching Excellence®
The original concept of ACE was forged for the benefit of 25 black football coaches who convened at Stanford University in 1994. This professional development model stemmed from the collective efforts of Mike Brown and Ron Thomas of The Sports Institute and Stanford’s Kevin Anderson (former Director of Athletics at Army and Maryland), Ted Leland, and the late legendary Coach Bill Walsh.

In 2002, the ACE concept model was modified and adopted by the Black Coaches Association (BCA; later Black Coaches & Administrators) to meet the needs of ethnic minority collegiate women’s basketball coaches. The inaugural ACE for Women program was held in 2003. Male/men’s collegiate basketball coaches were added in 2007. Primarily, ACE promoted the advancement of aspiring collegiate basketball coaches through programming facilitated by BCA and Advocates for Athletic Equity (AAE) through 2016.

Now, Achieving Coaching Excellence® will remain focused as an affinity group of professional, advancing aspiring coaches and professional development programming. Achieving Coaching Excellence ® will chart a course for leadership, development, and community. A rallying point for the coaching profession and for advocacy.
Achieving Coaching Excellence® operates as a recognized 501c3 nonprofit in accordance with the Internal Revenue Service tax code.

Follow Achieving Coaching Excellence® on Twitter; @ACE_Coaches. For more information or to donate in support of the organization’s mission, e-mail aceprog.info@gmail.com.

Women’s Basketball Coaching Honor Roll ’22
*Natasha Adair, University of Delaware (Co-Head of the Class 21)
Cedric Baker, Savannah State University
Kyra Elzy, the University of Kentucky (’21)
Ty Grace, Howard University (’21)
Niele Ivey, University of Notre Dame
Yolett McPhee- McCuin, University of Mississippi
Delisha Milton-Jones, Old Dominion University
Dawn Staley, University of South Carolina (Head of Class ’20, ’21)
Trenia Tillis Hoard, Tyler Junior College
Janice Washington, Lincoln University-PA
Shereka Wright, University of Texas-Arlington
Click Here to See More posts by this Author