Jones Honored by Norfolk Sports Club With Tom Fergusson Award

 – At its 75th Jamboree next month, the Norfolk Sports Club (NSC) will present its annual Tom Fergusson Award to Norfolk State men’s basketball head coach Robert Jones. The award is given annually to the Metropolitan Person of the Year in Sports by the NSC.

Courtesy Photo

“National awards are great,” said Jones, “But always good to be recognized in your hometown!! Love the 757!!”

Jones will become the third Spartan coach to win the award. Former baseball coach and athletic director Marty Miller (2006) and former football coach Pete Adrian (2012) were both recipients of the award. The award is named after former journalist and NSC founding member Tom Fergusson.

Jones led the Spartans to one of the most successful seasons in the program’s Division I history. He led the team during the 2021-22 season to its best 22-game start in Division I (17-5), back-to-back MEAC Tournament titles, and an undefeated home record (11-0).

NSU claimed the regular-season MEAC title after finishing with a 12-2 record in the conference and winning the MEAC Tournament with a 72-57 win over Coppin State in the championship. The Spartans finished the year with a 24-7 record, falling to No. 4 Baylor in the first round of the NCAA Tournament in Fort Worth, Texas.

Jones was named the Hugh Durham Award winner by College Insider, Inc. The basketball website also named him a finalist for the Ski Prosser Man of the Year Award, the Jim Phelan Award, and the Ben Jobe Award. He was also named by BOXTOROW as the HBCU Division I Coach of the Year.

The NSC 75th Jamboree, with special guest Taylor Heinicke, quarterback of the Washington Commanders, takes place on Tuesday, July 19th at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott from 7-10 p.m. Tickets the are available online on the NSC website here. Individual tickets are $90 with a table of 10 people for $850. Separate tickets to a special VIP Reception are also available on the website for $50. This takes place just prior to the jamboree from 5:30-6:30 p.m.

Click Here to See More posts by this Author